David Beckham has
revealed the reasons behind his
decision to retire from football,
insisting that he wants to be
remembered as a “hard-working
footballer” and is proud of his
achievements in the game.
The PSG midfielder announced on
Thursday that he would be calling
time on a sensational career that
has spanned two decades, and in
an interview with Sky Sports News
has insisted that he believes it is
the right time to bring the curtain
down.

DO YOU BELIEVE THIS IS THE
RIGHT TIME?
He said: “I think I’m ready [to
retire]. It’s a difficult decision. I
still feel I could play at the top
level and still have done for the
last six months but I always
secretly said to myself that I want
to go out at the top. If you’d said
to me eight months ago that I’d be
playing in the French League,
winning the French Cup, winning
the League, and finishing like this I
would’ve probably said ‘absolutely
no chance’. But I was given the
opportunity to come to PSG and I
just feel now is the time… I think!
“I love the game so much. I just
feel that, I don’t know, it’s the
right time. I believe it’s the right
time but I’ll always feel that I can
do more, that’s the problem.”

WHEN DID YOU DECIDE YOU
WANTED TO QUIT?
“Probably when Messi was running
past me in that home game! No, I
actually don’t know. I’ve been so
lucky throughout my career, I just
feel that the fact that the clubs I’ve
played for and the players I’ve
played with, won the trophies that
I’ve won… playing in the MLS last
year, winning the championship
there, and then coming to PSG and
winning the French League, I think
it’s a good way to go out.”

DOES IT HELP YOU`RE LEAVING
AS A CHAMPION?
“I think it’s every athlete’s dream,
every footballer’s dream, to go out
on top form or winning a trophy.
It doesn’t happen that often but
I’ve been lucky. When I left United,
we won the league, when I left
Madrid we won the league. Leaving
the Galaxy; doing two years of
winning the championship there,
and now obviously coming here
and winning the league. It’s nice to
go out like that. I think people look
back and it’s written. It’s simple.
You’re leaving as a champion and I
think that’s why it’s the right
time.”

HOW DO YOU WANT PEOPLE TO
REMEMBER YOU?
“I just want people to see me as a
hard-working footballer. Someone
who’s passionate about the game
and someone that, every time I
stepped on the pitch, I’ve given
everything that I have because
that’s how I feel going into games
and the end of my career. That’s
how I look back on it and hope
people will see me.
“I think over the years it’s been…
my life, my career, people have
obviously looked at certain other
things that have gone on
throughout my career and I think
sometimes that’s overshadowed
what I’ve achieved on the pitch and
as much as I say that doesn’t hurt
me, of course it does. At the end
of the day, I’m a footballer that’s
played for some of the biggest
clubs in the world, played with
some of the best players in the
world, played under some of the
biggest and best managers and
achieved almost everything in
football.
“Of course it hurts when people,
not question it, but think about
other things. To come to the end of
my career now and look back and
say ‘I’ve achieved everything with
every club that I’ve played for,
played for my country 115 times,
been runner-up twice in the World
Player of the Year to two amazing
footballers’. I’m very proud of
that.”

